currently searching:

Go Make of All Disciples / The Day of Resurrection

Concertato on ELLACOMBE

Text Author: Leon M Adkins, St. John of Damascus

Arranger: Richard Proulx

Translator: John Mason Neale

Primary Text © 1964 Abingdon Press, admin. Music Services. Setting © 2006 GIA.

  &    Preview

Item #: G-6208     Status: Available

PDF for $1.60

$1.60 Ship

Vocal Forces: SATB, Assembly

Accompaniment: Organ

Separate Instruments: Trumpet I in B-flat, Trumpet I in C, Trumpet II in B-flat, Trumpet II in C, Horn in F, Trombone, Tuba, Timpani

Tune Name: Ellacombe

Text Source: Primary text: Matthew 28:19–20, Leon M. Adkins, alt.; Secondary text: John of Damascus, ca. 696–ca. 754, tr. John M. Neale, 1818–1866, alt.

Music Source: Gesangbuch der Herzogl, Wittemberg, 1784

Series: Choral

Difficulty Level: E


Here’s a doubleheader: a festive hymn concertato for assembly, choir, brass, and organ, with texts for Easter and Ascension. With Ascension now almost universally celebrated on Sunday, a setting like this doubles its value. The octavo contains only the vocal lines; a full score with organ part is included in the instrumental set.

Brass quintet and timpani parts are optional.
Includes individual trombone part and an optional trombone part that can be substituted for horn in F.

Organ part not included in choral score (6208); must be obtained from 6208-INST.

Categories: Choral/Vocal

Seasonal: Eastertide

Liturgical: Ascension of the Lord A, Trinity Sunday B, Easter Sunday

Rites: Baptism, Commissioning of Ministers, Confirmation, Mission Sending, RCIA / Christian Initiation

Topical: Christian Life, Commitment, Courage, Discipleship, Eternal Life, Evangelization, Ministry, Mission, Praise, Providence, Sending Forth, Vocation

Bible Reference: Matthew 28:19–20

Scored for: Brass, Percussion

Style: Traditional

Major Works: Concertato

Number of Pages: 8

Language: English

Format: Octavo