Five Organ Preludes on Plainsong Tunes

Arranger: Robert J. Powell

Arr. © 2018 GIA.

  &    Preview

Item #: G-9657     Status: Available

PDF for $16.00

$16.00 Ship

Tune Name: Jesu, dulcis memoria, Ecce jam noctis, Jesu, redemptor omnium, Stabat mater dolorosa, Tantum ergo sacramentum

Music Source: Gregorian chant, Mode I; Sarum Plainsong, Mode IV; Gregorian Chant; Mainz Gesangbuch, 1661; Gregorian Chant, Mode III

Difficulty Level: M


Characteristic of Powell’s writing style, Five Organ Preludes on Plainsong Tunes is very musical and expressive throughout. The melodies flow smoothly in and out— sometimes in a polyphonic texture and sometimes clearly stated with a solo organ stop. The unmeasured notation and beaming of each tune matches the style of the original chants. Most of the sections are written for three manuals, but they can easily be adapted to a two-manual instrument. Registration suggestions are provided.

Categories: Keyboard, Organ

Number of Pages: 16

Format: Softcover